How my mattress changed my outlook on life

One of the things doctors won’t tell you about having a mobility disability is that you won’t sleep. You will be tired all. the. time.  For most of my life I have woken up at least 4 times a night – sometimes more – to reposition. That means that, like an infant, I was waking my parents up several times a night just to help me out. I’m 24 – that is not cool fun. I had just accepted this was how it had to be. I can’t move myself, so of course someone had to help me, right? My parents both suggested that I try different mattresses but I was so convinced that it would never get better that I didn’t bother trying. Well, as much as it pains me to admit it, they were right (just don’t tell them I said so).

A few weeks ago while I was in the midst of whining about my back hurting, my dad insisted that I look at new mattresses again and pick one. I don’t know if you believe in fate, but if you don’t I’m about to make a believer of you: after years of putting off purchasing a new mattress, the Sleep Number bed I was looking at was on sale for just 2 more days after I decided to try a new one. Seriously, God? Thanks for the discount. After trying the mattress at the store, we ordered it in hopes that it would relieve at least a little of the pain I was suffering every night and hopefully allow all of us to get a little more sleep.

sleepnumber
But actually my sleep number is 35, just FYI

Since my bed got here, I have only woken up to reposition 1-2 times a night. Is that ideal? No. Would it be great to sleep through the night? Obviously. Is this much better than waking up every 2 hours? Absolutely. Especially after years of thinking that I was doomed to never get a restful night’s sleep for the rest of my life…because that is not a fate that I’m okay with.

So basically what I’m saying is that if you’re in a situation that is not where you want to be, don’t accept it. Many (not all) life changes are in your power and it is up to you to make your life – and your sleeping situation – into what you want it to be. It might take some trial and error, and you may have to admit you’re wrong sometimes, but sometimes being humbled isn’t such a bad thing after all.

4 thoughts on “How my mattress changed my outlook on life”

  1. I use an air mattress which means I don’t have to get turned at night. don’t know if you are familiar with them but the mattress is made of a number of different cells and air is continually recycled through them to continually alternate the pressure. I think it’s great. Never heard of the sleep number bed before, seems like you have to adjust the softness yourself. is that correct?

    Like

Leave a Reply

